You’ve Been Warned!

Many legends have come out of the Superstition Mountains in Arizona, especially the legend of the Lost Dutchman Gold Mine. Jacob Waltz claimed to have discovered the mine that was hidden by the Apaches and their ancestors for centuries. The Pimas fear these grounds and stay clear of them. Some say it is ‘Sacred Grounds’ where the ancestors of many tribes of that area continue to haunt and protect this area from so many pillagers.Termed ‘The Devil’s Playground’ be may a fitting label given some of the strange accounts that  have come out of the area.

During the  1980s I was young, and totally unaware of the background on this area. I was hiking with my husband and friends very close to Weaver’s Needle where the legendary mine is said to be. I noticed I began bleeding slightly and it was not from a fall. We all discontinued our hike that day.

The following day I had to visit the doctor only to find out that I was pregnant and to take it easy as I had unusual bleeding. The doctor had asked me where we were hiking. I had told him we were at Weaver’s Needle and he replied, “Ya might want to find another hiking place.” I never questioned him about his remark taking it as he was suggesting it was a rough climb.

Needless to say I did have a healthy pregnancy and never thought anymore about it until  some thirty two years later when I had started to write a fiction novel , Mysteries of the Red Coyote Inn, for Young Adult readers about that area, when I discovered that area to hold so many secrets, mysteries and legends. I had no idea that one of the biggest ones is that the area is cursed to trespassers, or those who step foot on the sacred grounds of the ancients. It finally came to me that I was ‘warned’ back in 1980 when I had bled during my hike.

 

With my research I have come across much information that talks about a strong vortex in that area along with reported sites of an odd blue light coming out of the mountains. Legends say ancient beings reside in tunnels deep under the mountain. People have  also reported seeing shadow people, and even alien crafts descending down behind the mountains. Most will tell you before you go, “You’ve Been Warned.

 

In my novel Mysteries of the Red Coyote Inn, the Adventures of Dean Banks, he will encounter some of these secrets and legends and how he handles them will surprise most. Coming Soon from xoxopublishing!

 

For more information on strange accounts to the Superstition Mountains you may want to check out:

http://etsculptor.com/about/the-vortexes-and-the-portals/

http://smaparc.org/2012/12/24/superstition-vortices/

http://www.burlingtonnews.net/arizonafirstwater.html

http://paranormal.about.com/cs/earthanomalies/a/aa110303.htm

http://www.godlikeproductions.com/forum1/message1019561/pg1

 

Image

2 thoughts on “You’ve Been Warned!

  1. Deanie Dunne says:

    Your research is really interesting I had never heard that before.

Leave a Reply

